Musical Club of Hartford

Evelyn Bonar Storrs Piano Scholarship Fund

In 1989, Evelyn Bonar Storrs made a bequest to Musical Club to establish a piano scholarship. Her will stated in part, “I have tried to express my appreciation for the enjoyment and pleasure in having been a member of the Musical Club of Hartford...With this in mind, I have established the Evelyn Bonar Storrs Scholarship Fund to provide scholarships for talented and advanced students of piano...”

The Musical Club’s Evelyn Bonar Storrs Scholarship Committee, which administers the Storrs Scholarship Fund, distributes these funds in two ways:

  1. through grants to organizations which then award these funds to qualified pianists;
  2. through individual scholarships to advanced university students of piano.

Application Requirements for Individual Scholarships

Recipients of the individual scholarships are selected by the Storrs Committee in April of each year after consideration of submitted materials. Eligible students must be of the ages 18-30 and have traditional, classical training. Preference is given to students who either live in Connecticut or attend area universities. Each recipient is granted a one-year membership in the Club and selected recipients are invited to participate in the Storrs Scholars Recital in March of the following year for members of The Musical Club and the general public. To apply for a scholarship, a student must submit the following:

1. A completed Application Form. This form is a fillable PDF form. We recommend that you export or save this PDF and open it using Adobe Acrobat Reader to complete the form. Please attach the PDF of the completed form to an email and send it to the addressee below.

2. A letter of recommendation from the student’s current piano teacher. This letter must be sent directly by the teacher to the person whose email address is given below.

All application materials and letter of recommendation are mandatory. All materials must be submitted electronically by email to:

Suzanne Hertel, Chairperson, EBS Scholarship Committee. Email address: smher82<at>aol.com

The application process for 2024 has concluded. The following pianists have been awarded scholarships for this year:

Youmei Cai
Pia Castellano
Ho Man Cheung
Sophia Cornicello
Yimiao Fang
Mingyue Fu
Derek Hartman
Han Hu
Lyndon Ji
Carter Johnson
Linda Lee
Georgi Lekov
Robert Levinger
Grace Nieh
Zifan Qiu
Arisa Sato
Ramsey Scott
Alexa Stier
Elisabeth Tsai
Zhizhi Xiang
Qianqian Xie

Congratulations to all!